“Are you afraid?”

Today, we look for beauty of the body, not the Mind.

Wealth in money, not the Soul.

Strength in muscle, not in Willpower.

We confuse lust for Love.

Blame others for our own wrong doings.

Cry when we drop our phones,

But avoid shedding a tear when someone threatens to leave.

We’ve become black holes who are afraid of emotions

Instead, we let those things called feelings decay in orbit.

We fear failure, therefore assume you just start at the top.

And if you don’t, one day you will, no need to work.

So, you ask if I’m afraid.

Yes, afraid one will only want me for my body

Not my mind, for that they run from.

Only want me when I succeed

My soul is nothing, my willpower, weak.

Say they love me, then leave, because it was all just lust.

Afraid that one day, I’ll become like them,

The sorry saps who think only of themselves.

Avoid feeling, communicating, and soon being.

Tell me, how could one succumb to such numbness?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started